July 23, 2024, 05:07:30 AM

Author Topic: Question on using BFL Single miner  (Read 3026 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline K.A.T

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Question on using BFL Single miner
« on: August 19, 2013, 08:25:56 AM »
Hello,

I'm wondering if its possible to use my old BFL Single (832Mh on Bitcoin) to mine GLD ? How and which miners are used ?


Thank you....

Offline tadspoles

  • Legendary
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
  • Karma: +46/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Question on using BFL Single miner
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2013, 09:14:50 AM »
I'm not sure.  I think the bottom line is does it support Scrypt.

Offline dreamwatcher

  • Gold Miner
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
    • CryptoCoin Explorer
Re: Question on using BFL Single miner
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2013, 10:45:12 AM »
tadpoles is correct. There is really no way outside of CPU/GPU to mine scrypt based coins.

Scrypt was originally designed for tar backups and database encryption to be resistant to brute force attacks. This was accomplished by using a memory intensive encryption algo.

The old BFL hardware is really just re-branded FPGA systems and are not memory efficient. This is not to say that someday an ASIC for scrypt will not be made.

In fact, the only reason scrypt based coins can be mined on GPU, is because the scrypt parameters used are pretty weak.

However even with the relative weakness of scrypt parameters used, it is still a foreign encryption algo to BFL hardware and thus cannot be mined with it.

There are some good SHA_256 alt-coins that can be mined with BFL hardware(At least in theory..Never looked too deep into it) as they use the same encryption algo as Bitcoin.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2013, 01:42:00 PM by dreamwatcher »

Offline K.A.T

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Question on using BFL Single miner
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2013, 02:58:14 PM »
Hi,

Thanks for the reply guys. And @dreamwatcher, you're right I can use it for Terracoin. If that still has value.... I'm in to this on daily basis....


Thanks again.