June 20, 2024, 11:41:04 AM

Author Topic: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining  (Read 9233 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« on: August 29, 2013, 10:16:42 PM »
Hello, I was going to do some bitcoin mining but I found out I was late to the party, then a admin of the forums directed me to goldcoin! :D It looks like it's much more profitable. I was just wondering, say if I wanted to use a Butterfly labs 5Gh/s model, would it still work the same way as it does with bitcoin mining? Also, a estimate of how much I would earn with goldcoin, running at 5GH/s for 24hours. Thanks for reading :)
GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline Stouse49

  • Gold Engineer
  • DevTeam
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: +66/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 10:27:57 PM »
GoldCoin uses scrypt for its proof of work, unlike Bitcoin which uses SHA-256.  The Butterfly labs 5Gh/s device, along with other devices that are used to mine Bitcoins, will not work for scrypt coins.  Currently only a GPU or CPU hardware can be used to mine GoldCoin and other scrypt coins.
GLD: E1A6WogjpqU3KjjoRUD63f7kofrFozmyfg

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2013, 10:38:18 PM »
GoldCoin uses scrypt for its proof of work, unlike Bitcoin which uses SHA-256.  The Butterfly labs 5Gh/s device, along with other devices that are used to mine Bitcoins, will not work for scrypt coins.  Currently only a GPU or CPU hardware can be used to mine GoldCoin and other scrypt coins.
Oh right.. ok So If I was to get a better rig, I would need to have just a lot of GPUs? and also, the tut about running CGMiner doesn't work for me.. Could you help me out? Running this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150604 . Also, I tried just doing this for a script :
cgminer -o http://gld.cryptocoinmine.com:3333 -u MY USER -p MY PASS and I was getting a lot of rejected, no accepted. Could you help me with writing a script for a batch?
GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline MicroGuy

  • System Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 3471
  • Karma: +47/-0
  • "Shoot for the Stars!"
    • View Profile
    • MicroGuy.com
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2013, 10:41:34 PM »
This is my bat file:

Code: [Select]
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://gld.cryptocoinmine.com:2020 -u user.1 -p pass -I 20
"The heart of any cryptocurrency can be found in the spirit of its community."

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2013, 10:47:31 PM »
This is my bat file:

Code: [Select]
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://gld.cryptocoinmine.com:2020 -u user.1 -p pass -I 20
Yeah, I think something is wrong, or that batch file doesn't work for me, I'm getting only 500Kb/s :/
GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline Stouse49

  • Gold Engineer
  • DevTeam
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: +66/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2013, 10:54:39 PM »
500Kh/s for that card is very good.  I only get 350 Kh/s with my 7870.

Hashrates on scrypt coins such as GoldCoin are 1000 times slower than on SHA-256 coins such as Bitcoin.  Your card would get about 500 MH/s mining Bitcoin.
GLD: E1A6WogjpqU3KjjoRUD63f7kofrFozmyfg

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2013, 10:56:09 PM »
500Kh/s for that card is very good.  I only get 350 Kh/s with my 7870.

Hashrates on scrypt coins such as GoldCoin are 1000 times slower than on SHA-256 coins such as Bitcoin.  Your card would get about 500 MH/s mining Bitcoin.
Oh cool, also, around 250-300, not 500 :L Sorry. Looks like it's accepting now too
It just melts my computer down, so It's something to leave on when I'm not using, untill I get a better rig :P
GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2013, 11:28:45 PM »
Also, what about using the usb ASIC miners? they have pretty good speeds, can they be used with Goldcoin? http://thegenesisblock.com/asicminer-usb-bitcoin-miner-price-drops-80-to-0-175-btc/
GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline Stouse49

  • Gold Engineer
  • DevTeam
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: +66/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2013, 11:34:40 PM »
The answer to this is no.  Any hardware that is built specifically for Bitcoin (ASIC, etc) will not work for GoldCoin or any other scrypt coin. 
GLD: E1A6WogjpqU3KjjoRUD63f7kofrFozmyfg

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2013, 11:41:00 PM »
The answer to this is no.  Any hardware that is built specifically for Bitcoin (ASIC, etc) will not work for GoldCoin or any other scrypt coin.
Alright, so I need to learn how to combine GPUs to make them work together, got any guides for a noob?
GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2013, 11:43:34 PM »
The answer to this is no.  Any hardware that is built specifically for Bitcoin (ASIC, etc) will not work for GoldCoin or any other scrypt coin.
Also, something like this would work then? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GPU-Miner-Mining-Rig-Bitcoin-Litecoin-Cryptocurrency-2-3Gh-s-/111143170398?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item19e0a6315e
GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline Stouse49

  • Gold Engineer
  • DevTeam
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: +66/-0
    • View Profile
GLD: E1A6WogjpqU3KjjoRUD63f7kofrFozmyfg

Offline Ejay424

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2013, 07:55:35 AM »
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GPU-Miner-Mining-Rig-Bitcoin-Litecoin-Cryptocurrency-2-3Gh-s-/111143170398?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item19e0a6315e

This hardware will certainly work.
Hmm, I ran the program with
cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://gld.cryptocoinmine.com:2020 -u WORKER -p PASS -I 20

And at some point it stops  and gives this error:
Failed to reinit GPU thread 0
Thread 0 still exsists, killing it off
Error -6: Creating Command Queue. (cldCreateCommandQueue)

GLD : E4VPnAbwJF29Et9z9y9zfPzX7zCdrC5zfi

Offline Stouse49

  • Gold Engineer
  • DevTeam
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: +66/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2013, 11:08:52 AM »
The option in your command "-I 20" is to set Intensity to 20, which is very high for a scrypt coin.  Try using "-I 12"  This setting may be overloading your card and causing it to crash.

Code: [Select]
cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://gld.cryptocoinmine.com:2020 -u WORKER -p PASS -I 12
GLD: E1A6WogjpqU3KjjoRUD63f7kofrFozmyfg

Offline MicroGuy

  • System Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 3471
  • Karma: +47/-0
  • "Shoot for the Stars!"
    • View Profile
    • MicroGuy.com
Re: Confusion with GoldCoin mining with BitCoin Mining
« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2013, 01:17:33 PM »
Yes. Try reducing intensity by units of 1 until you find the "sweet spot".

You might also find useful configuration examples here: http://litecoin.info/Mining_Hardware_Comparison
"The heart of any cryptocurrency can be found in the spirit of its community."