December 02, 2020, 06:54:56 AM

Author Topic: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining  (Read 9846 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ipaint

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Artist View
    • View Profile
    • Abstract Artist
Note: *****SryptMiner GUI will NOT work on a Pool that has Stratum*****

If your new to mining Goldcoin I would recommend trying this first. This is how a lot of us mining Goldcoin got started. If you decide you want to mine and upgrade using your video card. There are post on how to set up you video card for mining.

This is not the fastest way you can mine Goldcoin but it will give you and idea on how it works.  And yes I still ScryptMiner GUI, why not it still gets me Goldcoins. After all when your mining you want all the Kh/s you can get. This adds to my Kh/s even though it isn't a lot, they add up after awhile so I still run ScryptMiner GUI on my PC(s).


First you need to download ScryptMiner GUI here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=62414.0

After you download it install it, of course :)

Before you join a Pool you can test it using my test account at cryptocoinmine.com  Currently you want to use cryptocoinmine.com or vircurpool.com. The reason you want to use one of these pools is you don't need Stratum, you can use GetWork or LP as it's called that is used when mining with ScryptMiner GUI.

Threads:
First you need to select the number of Threads. I can use 8 Threads in the photo below. On another PC I only have it set at 4 Threads. To be safe at first try 4 Threads. If you don't notice any problems with you screen or PC seeming slow. It shouldn't cause damage to your PC, it's just using all of the computers CPUs so it's slowing it down. If you don't notice your PC slowing down etc. try adding a couple more Threads eight ( 8 ) is the maximum.

Threads: Try 4 at first

Scantime: My Scantime is set at 99

RCP:  cryptocoinmine.com

Username: ipaint.test

Password: test

Port: 3333

Next Click Start

*Note: It will not work with mining pools that use stratum only. I just checked the mining pools posted on the forum and as of 12/01/2013 it will work on http://gld.minepool.net/
« Last Edit: December 05, 2013, 01:21:19 PM by ipaint »
Artist, Writer, Producer, Voice-overs,  DJ,
View my art work on AbstractArtist.xyz
GLD: EC7WVfs7Axa1WmmVHFS3xMAargMSmVjedW

Offline jimbo

  • Gold Miner
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +6/-1
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 04:14:11 PM »
Nice work Paint. may i add that the threads is how many cores your processor (cpu) has. so if your single core, threads=1, dual core=2,quad core=4 ect. if i put 8 in threads with my 4 core i lose speed by over half. also i use a scantime between 20-55 depending the difficulty of the coin im mining. the harder the more scantime.play around with it..i use all 4 cores and dont touch it.maintenance every week at least.(defrag and the like.)  dont quote me, but it seems if your getting alot of rejects,this is because your spending to much scantime and and it was already found.or not enough scantime time either or.

i really dont know if thats true it's just my findings on my miners.


if someone would like to comment on this for clarification that would be nice.

as i seem to get things wrong from time to time or dont know FULLY  what im talking about on certain things, so take it with a grain of salt :)


Offline ipaint

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Artist View
    • View Profile
    • Abstract Artist
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2013, 04:59:57 PM »
irond,

That's why I typed the short topic on Threads and stated they should try 4 Threads first. As for Rejects I never got that many using ScryptMiner, but you are right they need to try different amounts for Threads and try different settings for the Scantime.

I have another PC that's older and the Treads are 4 with a Scantime of 99.

On the newer PC it has 10 CPU cores. But I only use 8 so the PC can use the other two cores for other programs if I use them. I just let ScryptMiner run in the background on both PC's. As I said the Kh/s are low but they do add up. So even if you have say 3 PC's and they can get 15 Kh/s each for a total of 45 Kh/s that's not bad for letting them run in the background. But as we all know using GPUs is the best way. But for anyone new this is the best way to see how mining works.
Artist, Writer, Producer, Voice-overs,  DJ,
View my art work on AbstractArtist.xyz
GLD: EC7WVfs7Axa1WmmVHFS3xMAargMSmVjedW

Offline Stouse49

  • Gold Engineer
  • DevTeam
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: +66/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2013, 12:47:07 AM »
Here is a ScryptMiner package that contains the cpuminer (minerd) and works with stratum protocol.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/uynxdtl0lg92epq/ScryptMinerWithStratum.zip

Source code included.  Let me know if there are any problems.
GLD: E1A6WogjpqU3KjjoRUD63f7kofrFozmyfg

Offline ipaint

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Artist View
    • View Profile
    • Abstract Artist
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2013, 02:01:29 PM »
Stouse, This will only work if you use the wallet?

Myself I like the older ScryptMiner because it's a standalone, you don't need to replace or add any files in your wallet. But I'll try this version when I get a chance.
Artist, Writer, Producer, Voice-overs,  DJ,
View my art work on AbstractArtist.xyz
GLD: EC7WVfs7Axa1WmmVHFS3xMAargMSmVjedW

Offline Stouse49

  • Gold Engineer
  • DevTeam
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • Karma: +66/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2013, 02:21:00 PM »
This is a stand alone package.  Everything you need in one zip file.  I modified this based on your previous request for a stratum enabled modification.
GLD: E1A6WogjpqU3KjjoRUD63f7kofrFozmyfg

Offline NegBits

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2013, 10:09:50 AM »
Great Guide, thanks for share
GLD: DwZyqHrTg7kDoyUM61vWM2bChtn3268Afa

Offline pstopman

  • Gold Panner
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2013, 04:00:45 PM »
Thanks so much,
Started mining on 2 computers :)
E6fwfDNAt7QgmSTDe9xEAkrXdukrpqDVsU

Offline okie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2013, 01:48:35 AM »
I get the following error message:
The program can't start because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.

The latest GoldCoin client is installed and synched.

Thanks for your help.
GLD: EBGNTYJUaf3hXffPZ6KgMhzRApfYxTty1H

Offline ipaint

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Artist View
    • View Profile
    • Abstract Artist
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2013, 08:10:27 AM »
Hi okie,
Sorry I didn't reply here sooner. Did I post that missing file for you in a different post? I recall posting it for someone I just can't recall who it was.

ipaint
Artist, Writer, Producer, Voice-overs,  DJ,
View my art work on AbstractArtist.xyz
GLD: EC7WVfs7Axa1WmmVHFS3xMAargMSmVjedW

Offline okie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2013, 10:01:18 AM »
This thread was my 1st post. :)
GLD: EBGNTYJUaf3hXffPZ6KgMhzRApfYxTty1H

Offline ipaint

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Artist View
    • View Profile
    • Abstract Artist
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2013, 02:56:26 PM »
Okay, I t was someone else.  You can  download the file and see if it works for you. But I don't know of any reason why it's missing in the download.  Anyway give it a try and see what happens.
Artist, Writer, Producer, Voice-overs,  DJ,
View my art work on AbstractArtist.xyz
GLD: EC7WVfs7Axa1WmmVHFS3xMAargMSmVjedW

Offline traxx187

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2013, 10:20:17 AM »
thanks i hope this helps me in the long run

Offline itsjustchrisc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [How-To] New To Mining Never Tried it Before A First Step to Mining
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2014, 06:46:43 PM »
Great guide, I have always used my GPU for mining though... is it any good using CPUs?
DwgymLLinQb9Rvr9SKxYHQ2QrHHK5Khumo