April 18, 2024, 07:23:14 PM

Author Topic: Seed Nodes Issue  (Read 6527 times)

Offline MicroGuy

• System Admin
  • "Shoot for the Stars!"
    • View Profile
    • MicroGuy.com
Seed Nodes Issue
« on: June 13, 2013, 06:22:37 AM »

I was not aware of this but upon transfer of the domain GLDCOIN.COM, I failed to properly configure the DNS for seed nodes. This issue is currently being addressed and I expect to have it resolved today.
"The heart of any cryptocurrency can be found in the spirit of its community."

Offline MicroGuy

• System Admin
  • "Shoot for the Stars!"
    • View Profile
    • MicroGuy.com
Re: Seed Nodes Issue
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2013, 04:25:45 PM »
Update:

It's my understanding that posting this information does not pose a security threat, so if I am mistaken please inform me and it will be removed.

For those of you not aware of the seed node issue, I have temporarily found a resolution thanks to four very helpful developers. I'm no expert in this area so I must rely on the advice of knowledgeable community members. I was alerted yesterday by twobits that the seed node pointers in the DNS had vanished. Then I recalled deleting those entries when the GLDCOIN.COM domain was transferred into my account. I did not realize they were needed for the client to function properly.

The client has two hosts it looks at for nodes. I have now updated their DNS entries as follows:

seed.gldcoin.com = 72.11.149.185 (recommend by gdlcoin today)
vps.gldcoin.com = 207.12.89.2 (seed node by hyoshi)

DreamWatcher who runs one of the official pools has also just given us permission to use the IP 50.116.22.43 which is the VPS the Goldcoin explorer is on. And in addition I am securing a new VPS this evening for community use.

Comments, thoughts, suggestions?
« Last Edit: June 13, 2013, 04:30:00 PM by MicroGuy »

Offline dreamwatcher

• Gold Miner
    • View Profile
    • CryptoCoin Explorer
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2013, 05:02:31 PM »